Well, add one more to that list: Draft Beer.
The company says that for decades, beer has been a top request of flavors amongst their consumers. Now, after years of trial and error, the company is finally releasing a Draft Beer Jelly Bean that they are proud of.
Lisa Brasher of Jelly Belly says “its iridescent finish makes it seem like its poured straight from the tap.” But the quality of this Jelly Bean doesn’t stop with its appearance.
Ambrose Lee, Research and Development Manager of Jelly Belly, shared how they really dug deep to try to match the hops and yeast of draft beer in the flavor of their Jelly Bean, which most resembles a Hefeweizen.
The company started making drink inspired Jelly Beans back in the 1980’s, the first of which being Pina Colada and Mai Tai. Now, after years of perfection, they are “really happy with the draft beer flavor,” says Ambrose Lee.
The big question that I know is on everyone’s mind: does it contain alcohol???
The answer is NO. Just like all of their other beans, the Draft Beer Jelly Bean is alcohol free, gluten free, dairy free, peanut free, fat free, Certified Kosher, and vegetarian friendly. Each bean registers at just 4 calories a piece.
I’m not sure if I would rather have 30-40 Jelly Beans for 130-160 calories, or just enjoy the real thing: an ice cold beer. Regardless, the Draft Beer flavor seems to be a hit, and it’s caught my interest! The company has even posted “recipes” on their website to make “Beer Sangra”, “Apple Cider Shandy”, and a “Michelada”!
I have yet to sample this new Jelly Bean, but Jackie Dodd (The Beeroness), a chef specializing in recipes with craft beer, said she was “amazed at how perfect it was. It was the exact level of flavor you want, followed by a great sweetness that keeps you coming back for more.”